facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News


                             Celebrating Lung Cancer Awareness Month with Free Screenings in November

KANKAKEE, IL – Riverside Medical Center is celebrating Lung Cancer Awareness Month by giving you peace of mind. If you or someone you love has a significant smoking history, Riverside Medical Center suggests you get screened for lung cancer—for free in November!

The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) recommends a CT lung cancer screening for people 55 to 74 who have a smoking history of 30 "pack years" or former smokers who quit less than 15 years ago. A "pack year" is the number of packs smoked per day times the number of years a person has smoked. You may also be eligible for this scan if you're 50 years or older, have a smoking history of 20 "pack years" and have one of the following risk factors:

• Documents high exposure to radon
• Occupational exposure to silica, cadmium, asbestos, arsenic, beryllium, chromium, diesel fumes or nickel
• Personal history of lung cancer, head and neck cancer or lymphoma
• Family history of lung cancer
• Personal history of COPD or Pulmonary Fibrosis

The CT procedure is painless and quick; no drugs or injections are necessary. You will be asked to keep very still and hold your breath for the 20 seconds of the scan. The whole procedure takes only about fifteen minutes and in most cases, results are given to you at the time of the exam by the lung screening navigator.

A total of three scans are completed over a two year period. Each scan is $99, but if you schedule yours in November and meet screening eligibility guidelines, you will receive it free! The CT lung cancer screenings are available in Bourbonnais, Coal City and Watseka.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Rep. Kelly's NAACP speech a call for gun reform and civil rights

U-S Representative Robin Kelly was the keynote speaker in Kankakee Saturday at the annual banquet of the NAACP.

Kelly spoke about gun reform. She said Congress has to protect minority voters, put an end to gun violence, and end segregation.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Morocco laundry ruled a total loss

It took crews more than two hours to put out an overnight fire at a laundrymat in Morocco.

The fire broke out around 8:30 p.m. Sunday evening at the corner of College Avenue and Polk Street at the JB Laundry Services building.

Morocco Fire Chief Corrie Myers said crews arrived to heavy black smoke coming from the northwest part of the building.

Myers said when they opened the south doors to the building, the fire spread rapidly.

Crews from Morocco, Brook, and Rensselaer Fire Departments used aerial and deck guns to extinguish the fire.

Myers said crews had a difficult time putting it out.
"There's several interior walls blocking our path from the outside to inside to where the actual fire was. Not being able to get completely through those walls into the fire area."

Myers said nobody was inside at the time of the fire
He said the building was a total loss.

At this time, the cause of the fire is unknown and still under investigation.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Drug Take-Back Day Saturday

                                             Officials encourage safe disposal of meds

Officials are encouraging you to safely get rid of your old or unwanted medications today (Saturday).

The effort is a part of National Prescription Drug Take Back Day, which runs from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Select pharmacies are participating. You can drop off your old/unused medications for safe disposal.
Area police and some fire departments also welcome the public to dispose of the old meds at their facilities.
There's planned drop-off program today at Northfield Square Mall in Bradley. Police in Kankakee, Bradley and Bourbonnais are involved in the 'Take Back" effort.

Two locations are also available in Vermilion County: the CVS Pharmacy and county courthouse, both located on Vermilion Street.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Justice Garman to be installed as Chief of Illinois Supreme Court Monday

The elevation of Justice Rita B. Garman to become Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court will be marked by an installation ceremony Monday, October 28th.

The ceremony is by invite only due to space limitations. The installtion is at the Vermilion County Courthouse in Danville.

Justice Garman will become the 119th Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court, the second woman in Illinois to be Chief Justice and the second woman to head one of the three branches of government in Illinois.

"I am honored and humbled to have been chosen by my colleagues to serve as Chief Justice," Justice Garman said.

Justice garman will succeed Kankakee native Thomas Kilbridge as the high court's chief justice.

94.1 FM, WGFA