facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Notables to appear and speak during Watseka-hosting of ‘Wall that Heals’

State Senator Jason Barickman, Illinois Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti, and State Representative Tom Bennett will among the notables on hand to help welcome the 'Wall that Heals' in Watseka this week.

Barickman and Sanguinetti will both speak at the 5 pm opening ceremony Tuesday.

Watseka will welcome the Vietnam Memorial Wall which will be on public display this week. It's part of Celebrate Watseka activities all week long, which also includes Watseka FireFest and the Iroquois County Relay for Life at Watseka Community High School.


The Wall that Heals/Vietnam Memorial
June 9-15, 2015
Daily Programs and Speakers

Tuesday June 9 – Opening Ceremony – 5PM
Speakers: Illinois Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti and
State Senator Jason Barickman

Wednesday June 10 – Blessing of the Wall/Volunteer Recognition – 5PM
Speaker: Zack Rice, Crescent City Grade School

Thursday June 11 – Wreath Ceremony - 5PM
Speaker: Honorable Judge Susan Tungate

Friday June 12 – Hometown Hero Presentation - 5PM
Speaker: State Representative Tom Bennett

Saturday June 13 – Honoring Local Vietnam Soldiers/Reading of the
Names/Iroquois Counties Fallen Vietnam Soldiers – 5PM
Speaker: Roger Bennett, Thawville, Illinois
Past Illinois American Legion Post Commander

Sunday June 14 – Flag Day! Retreat Ceremony – 2PM
US Marine 4th Reconnaissance Battalion
Speaker – Lonnie Dirks, Iroquois Memorial Hospice.


94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois County flood alerts issued

The Iroquois River and Sugar Creek are posing flooding concerns following Sunday's heavy rainfall in central-Illinois and Indiana.

Local officials and the National Weather Service are monitoring rivers and streams, which may fluctuate as the week unfolds. Additional rain is expected this (Monday) afternoon.

Iroquois County Road 41, north of Stockland, is closed at the (Houmes) bridge. Also closed is the (Chapel) bridge west of Stockland.

Old Route 45 is closed between 3100 North Road and Chebanse.

Minor flooding is forecast on the Iroquois River until at least Friday morning. The river is expected to rise about a foot above flood stage (18 feet) by Wednesday afternoon.

A flood warning continues for Sugar Creek at Milford. Minor flooding is forecast by Tuesday morning.

The flood warning continues for the Iroquois River at Rensselaer, IN until Tuesday night. There's a flood warning for the Iroquois River at Iroquois, affecting Iroquois County. And Newton County, IN is affected by the Iroquois River near Foresman.

Flood advisories remain in effect until mid-morning today for Iroquois, Ford, Kankakee and Livingston counties. Counties affected in Indiana include Newton, Benton, Lake and Jasper.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Flash flooding still a threat in central-Illinois; tornado levels barn, trees, poles down

Severe weather raked across central-Illinois and parts of Indiana Sunday. The National Weather Service is reporting tornado damage, but flooding is the big concern on Monday morning.

Flash flooding remains a possibility in most parts of Central Illinois today following a wave of storms Sunday that dropped more than 6 inches of rain in some areas. A barn in Champaign County was destroyed.

Rainfall amounts range from 1.5 all the way up to six inches. Wellington received 3.6 inches in Iroquois County. Some trees were uprooted and utility poles and power lines were reported down. Motorists need to be aware of debris on roadways.

NWS meteorologist Ed Shimon reported McLean County receiving 2 to 3 inches in most parts, but there are some areas like near Danvers that have received close to 6 inches. He said the problem is that there is more on the way.

There's been no official report from Iroquois County. Some road commissioners are reporting downed trees and power lines. Vermilion County EMA officials report a building collapse in Danville. No word on the cause, but it was raining very hard at the time. Barricades are up on North Walnut Street where the downtown building came down. Several Danville streets were flooded.

At the McLean County EMA office, Curtis Hawk reported no major damage.

Scattered thunderstorms are possible for Monday, mainly after 1 p.m. The high is expected to be 84 degrees, and because of the rain, it also likely will be very humid, forecasters said.

There is no threat of rain for Tuesday through Thursday, but temperatures are expected to climb steadily toward the 90-degree mark by Thursday.

The NWS has since issued a Flood Warning for the Iroquois River at Iroquois affecting Iroquois River and near Foresman, Indiana affecting Newton County. This extends into Friday.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Route 66 cruise-in set for Saturday

Get your kicks on Route 66: Downtown Bloomington Route 66 Cruise-in will be 3 to 9 pm (Saturday). It's on the downtown Bloomington square.

More than 300 vintage, classic and muscle cars and street rods will be on display along with Route 66 items following the farmers market.

In the event of rain, the car show will take place on from 1 to 6 p.m. Sunday.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois Relay-for-Life a week away

We're just a week away from relay in Iroquois County. The 2015 Relay-for-Life of Iroquois County is Friday, June 12 at Watseka High Schools Blake Field.

This year's goal is $126,000. And several teams are busy with their plan for the annual event to benefit the American Cancer Society.

94.1 WGFA will again help kick-off the event with a "live" broadcast about 30 minutes prior to the opening ceremony.

ACS Coordinator Areca Van Mill is excited about the effort again, saying "it's a chance to honor cancer survivors and remember those why have lost their fight."

Carol Dexter is one of the original organizers. She says there is a change in the program this time, hours from 6 p 'til midnight, rather than all night long.

94.1 WGFA