facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Kankakee Murder Trial: Johnson Guilty

A Kankakee County jury has ruled guilty on all counts. That’s the verdict against DuShawn Johnson for the 2010 shooting death of Maria O’Connor.

The jury returned its verdict last night after about four-hours of deliberations. Prosecutors had pointed to the 20-year-old Johnson as being the triggerman in what was described as drive-by shooting involving rival gang members.

Miss O’Connor was an innocent bystander, walking home from a job interview when she was hit by a stray bullet.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Explosion levels White County, IN home

Update: Officials say fire, blast intentional

The Indiana State Marshall is investigating a house fire and explosion that investigators now believe was intentional.

The area, on County Road 800 N near Shafer Drive, where there used to be a home is now covered only in insulation and debris from an explosion Monday morning.

Investigators say the call came in around 8 am. When crews arrived on the scene, they say all they found was the smoldering ruins of what used to be a house.

Crews confirmed no one was injured in the blast. Witnesses said they heard the blast from 10 miles away.

Investigators said they found things "they did not like" and they believe the fire and following explosion were intentional.

Investigators say although they haven't had luck making contact with the home's owner yet, they do know the home was occupied only during the summer months.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Rutherford another step closer to run for governor

The wait is now for an official announcement. That’s expected to happen in June.

And Dan Rutherford will make that official announcement in his home-county…Livingston.

The state Treasurer was back in Watseka Saturday night, featured speaker at the Iroquois County Lincoln Day Dinner. Just a couple weeks ago, while speaking to the Iroquois County GOP Women’s Club, Rutherford also made it almost-official. But he backed off, saying he’ll have announcement in June.

Rutherford said Illinois has to deal with its debt and unemployment. He continues to talk about the state’s financial situation.

The former eight-year state representative and eight-year state senator again said he’s not ready yet to announce his bid for the governor’s race in 2014.

Peoria Republican Aaron Schock did announce he will not be a candidate for Illinois Governor. Schock says he can do more good in Washington, D. C. and plans to run for re-election in Congress.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Explosion levels home in White County

There’s nothing left but insulation and debris scattered about after an explosion this (Mon) in White County, Indiana

Sheriff’s police report when crews arrived on the scene after 8 am on County Road 800 North near Shafer Drive, they say all they found was the smoldering ruins of what used to be a house.

Fire responders used just a little water to put out flames from the debris. The house was gone. Witnesses said they heard the explosion 10 miles away.

Fire officials said no one appears to have been in the house at the time of the explosion. The cause of the blast is under investigation.

94.1 FM, WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Hearing set to consider permit for anhydrous ammonia facility

The Iroquois County Zoning Board of Appeals has set a public hearing to consider a conditional-use permit for a proposed anhydrous ammonia facility in Sheldon Township.

The hearing will be held at 7 pm Tuesday (4/30) at the Administrative Center in Watseka.

Crop Production Services is requesting the permit for an anhydrous ammonia facility in an agriculture district. The parcel, located south of U.S. 24 and County Highway 2800 East, is zoned A-1 (agriculture).

The Iroquois County Zoning Office said the permit application does not specify what kind of anhydrous ammonia facility would be built.

The permit application states 16 full-time jobs and 12 part-time jobs would be created.

94.1 FM, WGFA