facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

Mike Marron to serve Vermilion County Board as Chairman

He's no stranger to county government in Vermilion County. Mike Marron is the new Vermilion County Board Chairman.

Marron stepped up from the vice-chair position Monday night, elected on a 24-1 vote during the reorganization meeting in Danville. The Republican Chairman was the only person nominated for the job.

Gary Weinard stepped down from the chair citing time and health issues. Weinard remains a member of the board.

Bill Wright was elected to the Vice-Chair position.

The Board will review candidates for a vacant seat. Cathy Jenkins' District 4 seat is now open. She is now Vermilion County Clerk, having defeated veteran Clerk Lynn Foster in November.

Thomas O'Shaughnessy is now a county circuit judge, so his county recorder seat is now vacant.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Berger selected Ford County Chairman

A unanimous vote Monday gave the Ford County Board Chairmanship to Randy Berger of Gibson City. He replaces Rick Bowen who did not seek another term as chairman.

Berger was re-elected to his third term on the board in November's election. There was no opposition for Berger in his bid for the top chair. He said he hopes do his best for the county, be a leader and encourage businesses to locate in Ford County.

The only new board member elected is John Clark. Elynor Stagen was elected to another term as board vice chairwoman.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Iroquois County office-holders sworn in

Three county-wide officer-holders took their oaths of office today. Sheriff Derek Hagen, Treasurer Mindy Kuntz Hagan, and County Clerk Lisa Fancher were all winners in unopposed election November 4th.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Anderson voted in as new Iroquois County Board Chairman

Kyle Anderson of Beaverville (District 1) is the new chairman of the Iroquois County Board. Anderson was the lone nomination when the County Board re-organized today (Monday).

Anderson received 16 votes. Jean Hiles voted No. Brett Schmid abstained. Donna Wasmer and Dan Pursley were absent.

Voting in favor of Anderson were board members: Charlie Ault, Lyle Behrends, Russell Bills, Donna Crow, Ernie Curtis, Keven Hansen, Larry Hasbargen, Troy Krumweide, Vince Lamie, Dan Rayman, Dale Schultz. John Shure, Jed Whitlow, Susan Wynn Bence, Adam Zumwalt and Anderson.

Dan Rayman was the only nomination for Vice-Chair. He received Yes votes from Alt, Anderson, Behrends, Bills, Curtis, Hansen, Hasbargen, Krunweide, Lamie, Schmid, Schultz, Shure, Zumwalt and Rayman.

Abstaining from the vote were: Crow, Hiles and Whitlow.

Absent: Pursley, Wasmer, and Wynn Bence.

Hasbargen, Lamie and Pursley are newcomers.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Thanksgiving Day fatalities identified

Two St. Anne residents have been identified as the victims who died in a one-vehicle accident Thanksgiving Day in Donovan.

41-year-old Mark Morris and 32-year-old Joanna Bakula were killed when the piclup truck driven by Morris slammed into a tree.

Illinois State Police investigated just past midnight. The northbound truck left Route 52 before hitting the tree.

94.1 WGFA