facebook-logo twitter-logo


Local News

  • Parent Category: News

ICE program eyeing Newton County, IN

A multi-national operator of prisons and detention facilities, turned away in Gary, IN, is now looking at Newton County.

The U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE) needs access to the Chicag0-land area and is looking at property near Roselawn, IN. The NW Times reports the ICE detainee program is interested in building an 800-bed facility.

It’s only exploratory. No solid plans have unfolded. Newton County Commissioners earlier (in March) rezoned 46 acres of land at Roselawn as a PGD (Public Government District).

The GEO Group was turned away from Gary, IN two years ago.

The ICE program is what Kankakee County has with the Rent-A-Bed program at the Jerome Combs Detention Center. It generates thousands of dollars per month in revenue.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Gilman fire destroys building, clean-up now underway

A huge, threatening fire in Gilman (Wednesday) destroyed one building, damaged a couple more and had emergency responders on edge for a while. No injuries resulted. But now the Iroquois County town is forced to clean-up.

Strong winds made fighting the flames difficult. Then, came threatening weather.

This was at the intersection of North Central and 2nd Street in Gilman. The fire broke out after 2 pm. And soon, several area fire departments were responding.
The building, an old lumberyard, was made of steel. Fire crews had a tough time gaining access.

Smoke, thick black smoke billowed. It could be seen for miles.

For almost three hours, crews were dousing the flames that destroyed the old lumberyard building. A family lived inside got out safely. People were evacuated from businesses and the Gilman Elementary School sent students to the high school.

The popular Garage – a community center, next door was damaged.

The cause was not immediately determined.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Severe Storms hit central-IL and northwest IN, no injuries reported

A line of severe storms swept through much of central Illinois and did damage in northwest Indiana Wednesday evening.
Hail and downed power lines and trees were reported in parts of Bourbonnais. Northwest Indiana, Crown Point and the Cedar Lake, Merrillville areas had structure damage reported.
There was a line of severe weather on radar from the Chatsworth area in Livingston County. It angled across to the western sections of Iroquois County and up to Kankakee County.

Severe weather triggered watches / warnings from the NWS....affecting Ford and Iroquois County, Livingston and Kankakee were included.

The storms initially formed west of the Illinois River and strengthened as they moved eastward. Damaging winds produced hail and did damage some outside structures.

The strong winds also knocked down power poles and trees that then knocked out power lines in clusters around Central Illinois. As of 10:00 PM Wednesday, there were 1,900 Ameren customers without power.

Strong winds were also responsible for blown over semi trucks and trailers. One was on I-57 north of Pesotum at mile marker 223, another one south of there still on I-57 at mile marker 212. Lastly, there was one along Staley road in Champaign.

94.1 WGFA

  • Parent Category: News

Clean-up underway in Gilman after fire

The City of Gilman is cleaning up following Wednesday's fire in the downtown area.  An old lumberyard building at 114 W. Second Street was destroyed.  Two neighboring buildings had smoke and water damage.  No one was injured.

Evacuations were carried out, including the Gilman Elementary School and some businesses.  Thick, black smoke billowed over the downtown area much of the afternoon.  Hot spots were still being watered down well into the evening.  Several area fire departments provided mutual aid. Winds at more than 25 mph hampered firefighters efforts.  

94.1 WGFA


  • Parent Category: News

KCC Commencement Saturday, DACC set for May 18

Graduation ceremonies at Kankakee Community College are Saturday, May 12.  The 10 am event is at the George Ryan Gymnasium in the Activities Building.  It's the 49th annual event.  There are 450 graduates receiving diplomas.

The ceremony will stream live on the KCC website, kcc.edu

Commencement exercises at Danville Area Community College are set for Friday, May 18 at 7pm.  The program is in the Mary Miller Gymnasium.  More than 200 graduates are set to participate while more than 500 degrees will be handed out. 

94.1 WGFA